Archive for November 4, 2013

I was putzing around and came across this link http://www.whole9life.com/2013/08/revised-timeline/

It’s pretty accurate as I recall and it explains why I feel the way I feel each day. I’m on day 8. My pants are supposed to be tighter…I give that a rating of “annh, so so.”

Moving on..

Food is so much more than sustenance and fuel for my body. A lot of times eating is a completely emotional response for me.

That’s not necessarily a negative thing, not always. I don’t see a problem with celebrating with a good meal or a good glass of wine. I think the important part, at least for me, comes in the recognition and thereby the acceptance of the emotion. Eating to cover up a problem is where I get into trouble.

I eat when I am bored and sad and happy. It’s hard to even tell when I am hungry anymore.  I am hoping to change that with the Whole 30. I definitely know when I am hungry now! Especially after I work out, no question!

I guess you could say I am doing this to learn more about me and what drives me to do the things that I do. It seems there’s a lot of that in my life right now.

Something else I am working on is my involvment with a group called Leadership Austin. The “mission” of the group is the ‘development of core leadership skills in an effort to address critical community issues, and foster relationships that help facilitate positive, collaborative change in our community.’ I joined because I want to learn about different styles of leadership, primarily outside of the scope of the military. And I want to understand more about the community I live in.

I am learning a great deal about myself in this process, not all of it is clear yet and that is ok with me. I think for the first time in my life I don’t need to have the answers right in front of me. I am really, really enjoying the journey.

There are big things happening all around me, and I am so excited about where they all lead.

W30, day 7

Posted: November 4, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Shew. I made it through the first week. I had to work though the weekend and I think that made finishing up this week a little bit easier.

I am definitely past hating all of the things. Hooray.

Tonight was especially delightful. Meg and I went over to our good friends’ home and had dinner: Steak, roasted root veggies, salad and dessert. I had berries and coconut cream; they had ice cream.

So far I am learning that this really isn’t hard. It feels hard and It is a little challenging but as with anything in life, it’s really mind over matter.  What I find really amusing is other people’s reactions to the explanation of the W30. “I could never do that, I love ____(insert favorite food or beverage) too much.” But that’s kind of the whole point of the process for me. Breaking away from my mental and physical food addictions. I learn something new every time I break a habit. 🙂

I think I may move away from posting solely about the Whole 30 everyday. I have a few other topics I’d like to explore….Let’s see how that goes, shall we?